Nurse Excellence Awards

Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital presents Nurse Excellence Awards to individuals and groups whose contributions reflect our ongoing commitment to upholding the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s standards for the Magnet Recognition Program. Members of the Nurse Excellence Awards Review Panel include staff nurses from our Magnet Ambassador Council, advanced practice providers, and nurse leaders from the Nurse Executive Council.

2023 Nurse Excellence Awards Recipients

Transformational Leadership

Ester Caballero, MSN, APN, ACNPC-AG, CCRN, CSC
Transplant Services

Structural Empowerment

Emergency Department Unit Based Practice Council
Emergency Department

Exemplary Professional Practice

Moby Mathew, MSN, RN, CCRN
Neuro Critical Care Unit

New Knowledge, Innovations, and Improvements

Amber Bartol, BSN, RN
Emergency Department

Magnet Nurse of the Year

Mary Lynn Dupuis, BSN, RN, CCRN
Neonatal and Pediatric Transport Team

Community Outreach Award

Emily Guerin, BSN, RN
Emergency Department

Friend of Nursing Award

Cynthia Buckelew
Advanced Practice Providers

Sherry Stein Advanced Practice Provider Award

Al-Zada Aguilar, DNP, RN, ACNP-BC, CCRN
Medical ICU Advanced Practice Providers

Nursing Technician/Technologist Award

Robert Dukes
2 Core

Patient Stories

  • “I tell him he’s Superman and he can do no wrong,” Brian says. “It’s such a great gesture that it’s hard to put into words and say something that would do it justice.”

    Read More
  • “My friends are surprised when they see me, too. I’ve gotten so many compliments!”

    Read More
  • “Her health problem was very stressful for us, but that’s all gone now — because she’s OK.”

    Read More

Patient Stories

  • Watch Testimonial
  • Watch Testimonial
  • Watch Testimonial