Working Through Grief

Grief is a natural human response to the loss of a loved one and can show itself in many ways. Grief moves in and out of stages from disbelief and denial, to anger and guilt, to finding a source of comfort, to eventually adjusting to the loss.

But grief doesn’t have to be dealt with alone. Across New Jersey, we offer some of the best behavioral health care in the state with a wide variety of treatments through RWJBarnabas Health's Behavioral Health services.

Whether a person suffering from grief has just experienced the loss of a loved one, or is anticipating their own death from an illness, they will most likely be dealing with both physical and emotional symptoms.

Physical Symptoms

  • Lack of energy or fatigue
  • Headaches and upset stomach
  • Excessive sleeping or over-activity

Emotional Symptoms

  • Memory lapses, distraction and preoccupation
  • Irritability
  • Depression and feelings of euphoria
  • Extreme anger
  • Feelings of being resigned to the situation

The Stages of Grief

It’s also natural for people suffering from grief to move through its many stages. This process can span over several months or even years. The stages of grief do not necessarily fall into a set order either, and vary greatly from person to person. People may move in and out of these stages at different times throughout the grieving process. These stages include:

  • Shock
  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

Managing these stages can be difficult for anyone. Whether you or a loved one are struggling with the effects of grief, we are ready to help.

When you call our Behavioral Health Access Center – which offers 24-hour consultative mental health support – we’ll help you find the right type of care for you. Call 1-800-300-0628 for support services today or to learn more about how we can help you.