May 17, 2023 RWJUH Hamilton Nursing Excellence Awards and Magnet Nurse of the Year

Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital (RWJUH) Hamilton, an RWJBarnabas Health facility, honored David Baldwin, BSN, RN, OCN, as its 2023 Magnet Nurse of the Year. The award was presented during the hospital’s annual Nurse Excellence Awards Program held during National Nurses Week, May 6 – May, 12, 2023. “RWJUH Hamilton’s Nurse Excellence Awards is a time to observe those individuals who demonstrate excellence in nursing practice aligning with the tenants of Magnet,” said Lisa Breza, Senior Vice President, Chief Nursing Officer.

The RWJUH Hamilton Magnet Nurse of the Year recognizes a nurse who improves quality outcomes through exemplary professional practice. This is accomplished through visionary leadership, committee contributions, and an unyielding commitment to obtain and disseminate new knowledge and/or technology.

David Baldwin’s nomination notes he makes high quality care and safety a priority. He is a mentor to new employees, a nurse on the EPIC superuser group, a Clinical Nurse III on the Nursing Professional Advancement System, and dedicated to ongoing nursing education and professional development. He has been a nurse at RWJUH Hamilton for approximately 16 years.

“Each of the nominees and the award recipients truly demonstrate a commitment to nursing excellence and/or provide the much needed support and collaboration with nursing to carry out our mission of excellence through service and quality,” added Lisa Breza.

The following awards and award recipients were presented at the Nurse Excellence Awards Ceremony on May 12, 2023 at RWJUH Hamilton.

  • Magnet Nurse of the Year Award: David Baldwin, BSN RN OCN
  • Unit Secretary Award:Susan Alvarez, TeleNorth
  • Clinical Tech Award: Will Stevenson, OR
  • Nursing Quality Award: Naykis Sarvary, RN, ICU
  • Friend of Nursing: Kristen Crow, BNS, RN, Case Management
  • Physician/LIP Collaboration: Michael Gordon, MD
  • New Knowledge, Innovations & Improvements: Kelly Knox, BSN, RN, CWCN
  • Nursing Mentor Award: Travis Overstreet, RN, TeleNorth
  • Exemplary Professional Practice: Heather Nolan, BSN, RN, Endoscopy
  • Transformational Leadership Award: Cindy Mazuekiewicz, MSN, RN, PACU
  • Magnet Nurse of the Year Award: David Baldwin, BSN, RN, OCN PACU

RWJUH Hamilton has earned Magnet® recognition from the American Nurses Credentialing Center – the nation’s most prestigious nursing honor. Its more than 300 nurses serve in various roles throughout the hospital, including inpatient, surgical and emergency care, cancer care, outpatient services, care management, education, clinical research, infection prevention, quality improvement, patient navigation services, information technology services, community outreach and administration.

For more information about RWJUH Hamilton, including job opportunities for nurses,