Graduates & AlumniJanuary 2019 Graduates

January 2019 Graduates

Trinitas School of Nursing Graduates 112

January 2019 Graduates

One hundred and twelve students received their nursing diplomas at the Trinitas School of Nursing’s 161st Convocation Ceremony held at St. Michael’s Church in Cranford. Surrounded by family, friends, and staff that supported their efforts every step of the way, 99 women and 13 men proudly accepted their pins and diplomas. They also became eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN registered nurse licensing examination.

The Trinitas School of Nursing congratulates the Class of January 2019,” said Dr. Rose Santee, Dean of the Trinitas School of Nursing, a diploma in nursing program which is affiliated with Union College that also awards the Associate in Science Degree to the graduates. “The administration, faculty and staff continue their commitment to the success of all our nursing students using innovative strategies to promote student success. We prepare our graduates to be entry-level nurses in today’s dynamic health care environment.”

Graduate nurses took part in the occasion in various ways. The ceremony began with “America the Beautiful,” sung by Huguette Jean, accompanied by her husband Arrold Jean on the piano. The Welcome speech was given by Anaelisa Ramirez, while the Senior Class Address was delivered by Rebecca O. Thompson and the Closing Remarks were given by Pamela Santamarina.

The following graduated on the Dean’s list with high honors: Abigail Boamah of Roselle, Jenny Guzman-Morocho of Elizabeth, Mickerlande Medilien of Union, Anaelisa Ramirez of Elizabeth, Pamela Santamarina of Newton and Anita Surujnath of Rahway.

Graduates who were on the Dean’s list, with honors were: Maria Salome of Springfield, Samantha Ardino of Roselle Park, Robert Ayala of Bound Brook, Tashika Benjamin of Flushing, NY, Felicia Brizuela of Rahway, Natalie Di Petrillo of Union, Dorraine Dockery of Linden, Yvelande Etienne of West Orange, Mariya Evsevich of Staten Island, NY, Anna Horner of Union, Huguette Jean of Linden, Isabel Leal of Union, Melissa Luciano of Elizabeth, Alyiah Melton of Union, Alyssa Claire Nichol of Rahway, Marisa Pagano of Union, Cristina Perez of Roselle, Clifia Previlon of Union, Simone Rosario of Old Bridge, Gabriela Ruales-Calle of Hillside, Tara Smallze of Cranford, Jessica Spencer of Cranford, Jessica Spencer of Bronx, NY, Juan Telusma of Elizabeth, and Rebecca Thompson of South Amboy.

Additional awards were given to graduates as follows: the First Scholarship Award, Tilu Mathew of Bergenfield; the Second Scholarship Award, Anaelisa Ramirez of Elizabeth; the Auxiliary Award, Melissa Luciano of Elizabeth; the 2018 Nursing Service Professional Transformation Award, Jenny Guzman-Morocho, of Elizabeth; the Lily Bierstein Memorial Award, Anaelisa Ramirez of Elizabeth; the Gerontological Nursing Award, Isabel Leal of Union; the Alumni Association Award, Anita Surujnath of Rahway; the Curtis Crumbley Memorial Award, Clifia Previlon of Union; the Naeisha Massenburg Memorial Award, DiJohn King of Newark; the George F. Billington Leadership Award, Abigail Boamah of Roselle; and the Giving Back Award, Shonda Brown-Stewart of East Stroudsburg, PA.

Other graduates celebrating their accomplishment are as follows: Fathia Abusheraiah of Hillside, John Addo of Elizabeth, Rose M. Allen of Brooklyn, NY, Mintaa Oduro Amankwa of Bronx, NY, Simone B. Anckle of Plainfield, Arinze E. Anuforo of Elizabeth, Chelsea N. Aryee of Union, Andrea X. Avecilla De La Cruz of Elizabeth, Denisse N. Ayala of Elizabeth, Alison K. Baxter of Rahway, Jamie M. Billiams of Winfield Park, Victor T. Bloodgood of Fanwood, Ana D. Branco of Martinsville, Odayli V. Brito Balcacer of Union, Ayasha D. Brown of Lawrenceville, Shonda Brown-Stewart of East Stroudsburg, PA, Nadine Brown-Vassell of Bronx, NY, Didane Cadet of Hillside, Janiece B. Carter of Plainfield, Tsering Choedon of East Elmhurst, NY, Anne-Wesline Claude of Hamilton, Jessica Clemente of Elizabeth, Phara N. Clervil of Brooklyn, NY, Amanda M. Colon of Union, Fatmata R. Conteh of Jersey City, Quanetta R. Cooper of Union, Jason T. Dacosta of Elizabeth, Renee M. Daly of Colonia, Christine L. Defeo of Staten Island, NY, Lissette E. Diaz of Elizabeth, Juliet B. Dimayuga of Nutley, Funmilayo Y. Dokun of Roselle, Nermin Elsayed of South Amboy, Magdalena Filipkowska of Linden, Hortense A. Foster of Elmont, NY, Jessica E. Garcia of Avenel, Maide Gavarrete-Leon of Elizabeth, Sabrina Iris Grimila of Union, Lisa A. James of Brooklyn, NY, Jordan M. Jenkins of Newark, Kessy John of Bloomfield, Faith W. Karugu of Greenbrook, Tigist D. Kenea of Union, DiJohn T. King of Newark, Stephanie Korecky of Montclair, Karen E. Landaverde of Elizabeth, Jasmine L. Landicho of Union, Alicia D. Leon of Newark, Kaitlyn N. Malcolm of Rahway, Ewa B. Marczydlo of Westfield, Tania D. Monteiro of Elizabeth, Ewa Morawska of Linden, Roslyn Moyd of Plainfield, Malkia Murray of Elizabeth, Gbandi Nabine of Jersey City, Jalani A. Nelson of Staten Island, NY; Kelly J. Ochoaof Elizabeth, Brenda N. Oyugi of Jersey City, Alexandra V. Paran of Jersey City, Akanxi B. Patel of Elizabeth, Sonny Pierre-Philippe of Union, Adam Quilallan of Colonia, Christina F. Raymond of Linden, Stephanie Ribeiro De Souza of New Providence, Natalie M. Ring of Staten Island, NY, Franciele Dias Rocha of Union, Amy-Lynn G. Roman of Kenilworth, Ella R. Roychowdhury of North Brunswick, Marquita L. Rush of Elizabeth, Sheheryar Saeed of Elizabeth, Juliett L. Samms of Scotch Plains, Erick Salinas of Kearny, Mark G. Sedhom of Brooklyn, NY, Alexander R. Shukla of Elizabeth, Bogumila B. Stella of Cedar Grove, Maitri A. Suthar of Edison, Kristina Valerio of Union, Alecia Vaz of Bronx, NY, Gjunere Veliu of Staten Island, NY, Genesis N. Villanueva of Elizabeth, and Crystal A. Wright of Linden.

Trinitas School of Nursing, a collaborative nursing program of Trinitas Regional Medical Center and Union College, currently holds full accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) and the New Jersey State Board of Nursing. The National League for Nursing has awarded the School of Nursing a third designation as a Center of Excellence in Nursing Education status for the years 2015-20 for “Creating Environments that Enhance Student Learning and Professional Development.” The majority of the full-time faculty and administration are doctorally prepared and hold certifications as NLN Certified Nurse Educators (CNE). The School holds a 25-year, 50-class national RN licensing examination (NCLEX) average pass rate of 95% on first attempt.