Awards and Recognition



Nominate a deserving recipient of The DAISY Award

This nurse’s clinical skill and especially her/his compassionate care exemplify the kind of nurse that our patients, their families, and our staff recognize as an outstanding role model. She/he consistently meets all of the following criteria:

  • Establishes that special connection between his/her patient and their family which demonstrates the trust, care and compassion of the nurse-patient-family relationship
  • Has a positive attitude and demonstrates professionalism in the work environment
  • Collaborates with the healthcare team to meet the patient’s and the family’s needs
  • Exhibits excellent interpersonal skills with his/her patient, family, peers and co-workers
  • Lives the RWJUH Somerset values of Commitment, Understanding, Learning, Trust, Unity, Respect and Empathy


Complete The DAISY Award Nomination form and email to: Eileen Allen, and Kathy Easter, If you have any questions, please contact Eileen at 908-595-2393.


2022 Nurse Excellence Awards

  • 2022 Magnet Nurse of the Year Award: Hong Zhang, BSN, RN, SCRN
  • Transformational Leadership Award: Kimberly McKevitt, BSN, RN, CWON, WCC, OMS
  • Exemplary Professional Practice Award: Jennifer Higgins, BSN, RN, CCRN
  • Structural Empowerment Award: Infection Prevention Council
  • New Knowledge, Innovations, and Improvements Award: Patricia Perna, ASN, RN, RNC-OB
  • Community Outreach Award: Tina Horton, MSN, RN, CNL, SCRN
  • Advanced Practice Provider Award: Daisy Cardoso, MSN, RN, APRN, FNP-BC
  • Nursing Technician/Technologist Award: Christian Salazar
  • Friend of Nursing Award: Kirk Laurence

2021 Nurse Excellence Awards

  • 2021 Magnet Nurse of the Year Award: Ma. Arlene Azores, BSN, RN, RNC-LRNN
  • Transformational Leadership Award: Brittany Roper, BSN, RN, CCRN
  • Exemplary Professional Practice Award: Edith Gamayo, BSN, RN-BC
  • Structural Empowerment Awards: Ortho Pavilion Unit Based Practice Council
  • New Knowledge, Innovations, and Improvements Award: Liza Davidov, BSN, RN, CCRN
  • Community Outreach Award: Maria Corella, BSN, RN
  • Advanced Practice Provider Award: Megan Madara, MSN, APN-c
  • Nursing Technician/Technologist Award: Robert Raggi
  • Friend of Nursing Award: Jack Fulton

2020 Nurse Excellence Awards

  • 2020 Magnet Nurse of the Year: Danica de Guzman, BSN, RN, PCCN
  • Transformational Leadership Award: Kathleen Edge, BSN, RN, PCCN, CCRN
  • Exemplary Professional Practice Award: Geraldine Contreras, MSN, RN-BC
  • Structural Empowerment Award: DAISY® Award Committee
  • New Knowledge, Innovations, and Improvements Award: Sophie Robicheau, ASN, RN OCN
  • Community Outreach Award: Maria Theresa Domider, BSN, RN-BC
  • Advance Practice Provider Award: Shankari Ravichandran, DNP, RN, APN, FNP-BC
  • Nursing Technician/ Technologist: Mariselva Oyola
  • Friend of Nursing: Kristoffer Bryans

2019 Nurse Excellence Awards

  • 2019 Magnet Nurse of the Year: Jennifer Tinn, BSN, RN, CCRN
  • Transformational Leadership: Laura Smith, BSN, RN, CNRN
  • Exemplary Professional Practice Award: Galina Saburova, BSN, RN, ONC
  • Structural Empowerment Award: Magnet® Enculturation Council
  • New Knowledge, Innovations, and Improvements Award: Megan Allen, MSN, RN-BC, CCM, CCDS
  • Community Outreach Award: Rhonda Lane, BSN, RN
  • Advanced Practice Provider Award: Simona Schneider, MSN, RN, APN, ANP-BC, CBEC
  • Nursing Technician/ Technologist Award: Megan Carley
  • Friend of Nursing Award: CJ Cruz

Patient Stories

  • “MyChart is very informative and efficient. Every time a test result comes in, I go to MyChart and can look at my results. I think it’s great.”

    Read More
  • “If I’m still kicking in 20 years, I’ll be doing it at the ballet barre.”

    Read More
  • A planned gift highlights one couple's longtime commitment to RWJUH Somerset.

    Betty & Art
    Read More

Patient Stories

  • Watch Testimonial
  • Watch Testimonial
  • Watch Testimonial