Nurse Excellence Awards

Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital presents Nurse Excellence Awards to individuals and groups whose contributions reflect our ongoing commitment to upholding the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s standards for the Magnet Recognition Program. Members of the Nurse Excellence Awards Review Panel include staff nurses from our Magnet Ambassador Council, advanced practice providers, and nurse leaders from the Nurse Executive Council.

2023 Nurse Excellence Awards Recipients

Transformational Leadership

Ester Caballero, MSN, APN, ACNPC-AG, CCRN, CSC
Transplant Services

Structural Empowerment

Emergency Department Unit Based Practice Council
Emergency Department

Exemplary Professional Practice

Moby Mathew, MSN, RN, CCRN
Neuro Critical Care Unit

New Knowledge, Innovations, and Improvements

Amber Bartol, BSN, RN
Emergency Department

Magnet Nurse of the Year

Mary Lynn Dupuis, BSN, RN, CCRN
Neonatal and Pediatric Transport Team

Community Outreach Award

Emily Guerin, BSN, RN
Emergency Department

Friend of Nursing Award

Cynthia Buckelew
Advanced Practice Providers

Sherry Stein Advanced Practice Provider Award

Al-Zada Aguilar, DNP, RN, ACNP-BC, CCRN
Medical ICU Advanced Practice Providers

Nursing Technician/Technologist Award

Robert Dukes
2 Core

Patient Stories

  • "Time is Brain,” isn’t just a catchy tagline, Dr. Rybinnik notes. Parts of the brain can die if they do not receive proper blood flow for too long

    Read More
  • He is also deeply grateful to RWJUH’s Heart Transplant Team for giving him the ultimate second chance at life.

    Read More
  • I cannot say enough about the nurses and the aftercare I received, Rick said. All of the doctors and nurses kept my kids updated and checked on me regularly to make sure everything went well.

    Read More

Patient Stories

  • Watch Testimonial
  • Watch Testimonial
  • Watch Testimonial