Mentorship Award in Honor of Dr. Anil Nanda––LSU Neurosurgery Department Founder

Dr. Anil NandaThe Southern Neurological Society (SNS) has named a new award in honor of prior Chairman of Neurosurgery at the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center, Dr. Anil Nanda.

According to the SNS, “Dr. Nanda is an egalitarian leader in neurosurgical education. He is innovative, highly creative, and a master surgeon. Throughout his remarkable career, he has been particularly devoted to mentorship in the Southern Neurosurgical Society. As such, in honor of his legacy to the Southern, the Anil Nanda Award was created in 2019 to award abstracts/papers that best exemplify a commitment to education and mentorship.”

The award will be given to scholars whose research abstracts/papers “best exemplify commitment to education and mentorship.” 2019 is the inaugural year of the Anil Nanda Award. The first recipient is Dr. Nickalus R. Khan PGY of the University of Tennessee.

Dr. Nanda’s contribution to Louisiana State University and establishment of southern neurosurgery led to this award. He was the Chair of Neurosurgery of LSU Health’s Department of Neurosurgery, where he pioneered and established the largest neurosurgical residency program in the state of Louisiana.

His commitment to mentorship and training endures at his new position as the Peter W. Carmel M.D. Endowed Chair of Neurological Surgery, Professor and Chairman of Neurological Surgery at Rutgers New Jersey Medical School and Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, as well as Senior Vice President of Neurosurgical Services at RWJ Barnabas Health.